Russell County Alabama

Print More

Russell County Alabama

Russell County Alabama Map

Russell County Alabama Map


Russell County Alabama, located in the southeastern part of the state,  is a county of Alabama. Russell County, known as “The County of Forts,” because of the many forts that once existed within the county’s boundaries, including Fort Mitchell, Sand Fort, Fort Bainbridge, and a small portion of present-day Fort Benning (most of which is in Georgia).  was established by an act of the state general assembly on December 18, 1832, from lands ceded to the state by the Creek Indians, however, the final geographical boundaries did not exist until 1932.

Russell County Alabama History:

Early settlement of Russell County as well as other parts of Alabama followed the establishment of Fort Mitchell. The fort was constructed by Georgia militia in 1813 during the Creek Indian War of 1813-14 to provide military protection for non-Indian expansion into Native American lands. As of the 2010 census, the population was 52,947. Its county seat is Phenix City, Alabama.  Its name is in honor of Colonel Gilbert C. Russell, who fought in the wars against the Creek Indians.

Russell County Alabama Cities:

Phenix City, Alabama

Russell County Alabama Towns:

Hurtsboro, Alabama

Hurtsboro is a town in Russell County.It was founded in 1857 as Hurtsville and named for Joel Hurt, Sr.  A railroad spur from Columbus, Georgia was completed the next year. It was incorporated in 1872 and in 1883 the town name was changed to Hurtsboro.

Russell County Alabama Communities:

Ladonia, Alabama

Cottonton, Alabama

Crawford, Alabama

Fort MItchell, Alabama

Glenville, Alabama

Glennville was the first permanent community in what is today Russell County. Glenville is an unincorporated community in Russell County, which used to be in Barbour County. During the Civil War, Company “H” of the 15th Regiment Alabama Infantry was raised from Barbour and Dale counties and called the “Glenville Guards”.

Hatchechubbee, Alabama

Holy Trinity, Alabama

Hooks, Alabama

Hooks is an unincorporated community in Russell County. Hooks was named after John J. Hooks, the first postmaster. The post office was established in 1893, and remained in operation until it was discontinued in 1915.

Pittsview, Alabama

Seale, Alabama

Uchee, Alabama

Russell County Alabama Historic Landmarks:

Apalachicola Fort Site

Russell County Alabama Map:

If you would like to become a sponsor, advertise a related location, service or vacation spot that would add to the usefulness of this site, please email us:

Comments are closed.