Category: Dale County Alabama

Dale County Alabama

Dale County is a county of the U.S. state of Alabama. As of the 2010 census the population was 50,251. Its county seat and largest city is Ozark.

Samuel Dale in the 1813 Canoe Fight, with the Creek Nation, on the Alabama River, Mississippi Territory.

The county was named for Georgia native Samuel Dale, an early pioneer who led a group of settlers to Alabama. In 1841, the county was split in half to create Coffee County and in 1868, Geneva County was formed from southern portions of Dale County. In 1903, Dale County was further reduced when the state legislature carved Houston County out of the southeastern corner. The county seat was originally located at Daleville but was removed to Newton in 1843 and finally to Ozark in 1870. The courthouse was destroyed by fire in 1884 and replaced by an ornate brick structure in 1901. In 1968, the county erected the current courthouse.

error: .