Category: Madison County Alabama

Madison County Alabama

Madison County is a center of the aerospace industry, notably the Marshall Space Flight Center, a division of the National Aeronautical and Space Administration (NASA), and the U.S. Army’s Aviation and Missile Command, both crucial aspects of the nation’s defense and space-exploration efforts.

Mississippi Territory governor Robert Williams created Madison County by executive order on December 13, 1808. The county was named for Pres. James Madison, who was then serving as secretary of state under Pres. Thomas Jefferson. The area that now comprises Madison County was held by Chickasaws and Cherokees Indians prior to land cessions to the U.S. government and subsequent American settlement.

error: .