Category: Perry County Alabama

Perry County Alabama, located in the west-central part of the state, was established in 1819 from land acquired from the Creek Indians in the 1814 Treaty of Fort Jackson. The county is named in honor of Commodore Oliver Hazard Perry of The United States Navy. The County seat is Marion Alabama.

Civil-rights leader Coretta Scott King was born in Heiberger and attended Lincoln Normal School in Marion, which is also home to Marion Military Institute and the all-female Judson College.

error: .