Alabama Counties Index

Alabama has 67 counties. Each county serves within its borders. The land enclosed by the present Alabama state borders was joined to the United States of America gradually. In 1814, the Treaty of Fort Jackson opened the territory to American settlers, which in turn led to a more rapid rate of creation. Alabama Counties Created From Native American Lands
Alabama was admitted as the 22nd state in 1819.