Jefferson County Alabama

Print More


Jefferson County Alabama is located in the north-central part of Alabama and is the most populous county in the State of Alabama. As of the 2010 census, the population was 658,466. The county seat is Birmingham, the most populous city in the state.

Jefferson County Alabama Map

Jefferson County Alabama Map

Jefferson County was established on December 13, 1819, by the Alabama Legislature. It was named in honor of Thomas Jefferson.  The county is located in the north-central portion of the state, on the southmost edge of the Appalachian Mountains, in the center of the (former) iron, coal, and limestone mining belt of the Southern United States.

Jefferson County Alabama Cities:

Adamsville, Bessemer, Birmingham, Brighton, Center Point, Clay, Fairfield, Fultondale, Gardendale, Graysville, Helena, Homewood, Hoover, Hueytown, Irondale, Kimberly, Leeds, Lipscomb, Midfield, Mountain Brook, Pinson, Pleasant Grove, Sumiton, Tarrant, Trussville, Vestavia Hills, Warrior

Jefferson County Alabama Towns:

Argo, Brookside, Cardiff, County LIne, Maytown, Morris, Mulga, North Johns, Sylvan Springs, Traffors, West Jefferson

Jefferson County Alabama Communities:

Coalburg, Corner, Dolomite, Hopewell, McCalla, Shannon, Watson, Concord, Edgewaer, Forestdale, Grayson Valley, McDonal Chapel, Minor, Mount Olive, Rock Creek


Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office


Comments are closed.