The City of Lineville Alabama is a small town with unique qualities. We have as our motto “Scenic Cross Roads Of East Alabama.” We celebrated our 100th birthday in 1998 as an incorporated city. Lineville goes back much farther for this was once called Lundy’s Cross Roads. It was named Lineville when a new county known as Clay was formed from two existing counties – Randolph and Talladega – and this town formed on the line, thus becoming the present day location in 1859.
The geographical area containing today’s town of Lineville was inhabited by Native Americans as far back as at least 11,000 years ago. Up until the late 1500s, the local Indians were primarily from the Coushatta (Coosa), Alibamo (Alabama), Uchi, Tallassee, Arbeka, Choctaw, Cherokee, and Natchez tribes. White man probably made first contact with these local tribes during Hernando DeSoto’s expedition in 1540. Some historians believe that a few of DeSoto’s scouts came up Talladega Creek into what is now Clay County.