Early Roads and Routes in Alabama circa 1800-1839

This image is a map of the state of Alabama by John Melish showing early roads and routes inside Alabama and their extension to the neighboring states. Some of the early roads and routes shown are Natchez Trace, Gaines Road, Jackson’s Military Road, Huntsville Road, Post Road From Natchez, Old Federal Road, Pensacola Road, and Jackson’s Route to the Creek Wars. The map also shows counties, cities, forts, and rivers. “MP 0459” is printed at the lower right corner of the map. The map is a printed copy of an originally handwritten map and is not encapsulated. 

Early Roads and Routes in Alabama circa 1800-1839

This image is the property of the Auburn University Libraries and is intended for non-commercial use.

Dallas County Alabama Map


A center of the civil-rights struggle, Dallas County is home to Selma, starting point of the famous Selma to Montgomery March. The county was also the site of Cahaba, the state’s first capital as well as the largest historic district in Alabama.

Chambers County Alabama Map


During the Civil War, the Confederacy constructed Fort Tyler in Chambers County to protect the railroad bridge, wagon bridge, and Confederate supplies in the city of West Point, Georgia, just over the county line. Union forces seized the fort and destroyed the railroad during the Battle of West Point, one of the last battles of the war.

Colbert County Alabama

Leighton is located in eastern Colbert County at 34°41′59″N 87°31′51″W (34.699642, -87.530699). The town is concentrated around the intersection of County Line Road (signed as Main Street within town limits) and County Road 22 (“Old Highway 20”), southeast of Muscle Shoals. U.S. Route 72 passes just to the south, and the Tennessee River lies a few miles to the north.

DeKalb County Alabama Map


DeKalb County was once a part of the territory occupied by the Cherokee Indian nation. The coming of white men to the county occurred during the American Revolution when a British agent, Alexander Campbell, was sent here for the purpose of arousing the Cherokees against the southern colonies. In 1777, Campbell made his headquarters at Wills Town, a Cherokee Indian village located on Big Wills Creek near the present community of Lebanon. Campbell was successful in arousing a number of the Cherokees by promising them clothing and conquered territory in exchange for the scalps of white settlers.

Autauga County Alabama Map

Autauga County is a friendly community in the Appalachian foothills with gently rolling land, outcropping of mountains and valleys. The county was named for Autauga Creek, which runs through it.