Dallas County Alabama Map

Print More

Dallas County Alabama

Dallas County Alabama

Dallas County Alabama


Dallas County population is 43,820. The county seat is Selma. Its name is in honor of United States Secretary of the Treasury Alexander J. Dallas, who served 1814-1816.
The county is traversed by the Alabama River and bordered by Perry, Chilton, Autauga, Lowndes, Wilcox, and Marengo counties. Originally, the Dallas county seat was at Cahaba, which also served as the state capital for a brief period. In 1865, the county seat was transferred to Selma. Other towns and communities in the still mostly rural county include Marion Junction, Sardis, Orrville, Valley Grande, and Minter.
Cities: Selma, Valley Grande
Towns: Orrville
Communities: Beloit, Bogue Chitto, Browns, Carlowville, Crumptonia, Elm Bluff, Marion Junction, Minter, Plantersville, Pleasant Hill, Richmond, Safford, Sardis, Selmont-West Selmont, Summerfield, Tyler

If you would like to become a sponsor, advertise a related location, service or vacation spot that would add to the usefulness of this site, please email us: staff@digitalalabama.com.

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Dallas County

loading map - please wait...

Edmund Pettus Bridge: 32.405556, -87.018611
marker icon
 Open standalone map in fullscreen mode Export as KML for Google Earth/Google Maps
Edmund Pettus Bridge

This bridge across the Alabama River is noted for being the site of a bloody encounter during a civil rights march in 1965, an event influential in the passage of that year’s Voting Rights Act.