Limestone County Alabama

Limestone County Alabama

Map Of Alabama Highlighting Limestone County

Map Of Alabama Highlighting Limestone County

Limestone County Alabama population is 82,782. Its county seat is Athens, Alabama. Its name comes from Limestone Creek, a local stream. Limestone County was established by the Alabama Territorial legislature on February 6, 1818. On November 27, 1821, the Alabama State legislature passed an Act that altered the boundary of Limestone County include the area east of the mouth of the Elk River with the Tennessee River. At the time, that area was a part of Lauderdale County.

Limestone County Alabama Cities:


Athens Alabama

Decatur Alabama

Huntsville Alabama

Madison Alabama

Limestone County Alabama Towns:

Ardmore Alabama

Elkmont Alabama

Lester Alabama

Mooresville Alabama

Mooresville is a town in Limestone County, Alabama, United States, located southeast of the intersection of Interstate 565 and Interstate 65, and north of Wheeler Lake. Mooresville is one of the oldest incorporated towns in Alabama, having been incorporated on November 16, 1818, when Alabama was still a Territory. It was named for early settlers, Robert and William Moore who located on land which became the site of Mooresville. Andrew Johnson, later to become the 17th president of the United States, lived in Mooresville as an apprentice tailor when he was a young man.

Limestone County Alabama Communities:

Belle Mina Alabama

The community of Belle Mina was named for the plantation of the same name that belonged to Governor Thomas Bibb, the second governor of the state of Alabama. It was originally called “Belle Manor”, but because of southern pronunciation, the spelling changed over time. The name is derived from the French word “belle”, meaning “beautiful”. The plantation was situated along the Southern Railroad, and there was a station at or near the plantation. A post office was established in Belle Mina in 1878.The community served as the rail stop for Mooresville.

Capshaw Alabama

Capshaw, also known as Lux is an unincorporated community in eastern Limestone County. The community was named for an early settlers David and William Capshaw. A post office under the name Capshaw was first opened in 1918.

Good Springs Alabama

Good Springs is an unincorporated community in Limestone County. Coordinates: 34°56′50″N 87°11′39″W

Greenbrier Alabama

Greenbrier is an unincorporated community in south eastern Limestone County. The population is 2. Greenbrier was likely named for Greenbrier, Virginia, since a number of early settlers of the area came from Virginia. A post office was established under the name Green Brier in 1869 and was in operation until 1920.
Coordinates: 34°40′15″N 86°50′37″W

Kelly Kazek Writes:
Scenes from Greenbrier: Unspoiled farm community soon to be home to Polaris plant

Holland Gin Alabama

Holland Gin is an unincorporated community in Limestone County.

Holland Gin has been noted for its unusual place name. Holland Gin was named for a cotton gin operated by a father and son, Hezzie and Egbert Holland. Coordinates: 34°57′48″N 86°53′14″W

Oakland Alabama

Oakland is an unincorporated community in Lauderdale County. Coordinates: 34°49′39″N 87°05′07″W

Scarce Grease Alabama

Scarce Grease, also known as Scarse Grease or Rockaway, is an unincorporated community in Limestone County. Coordinates: 34°58′14″N 87°7′57″W

Tanner Alabama

Tanner is an unincorporated community in central southern Limestone County, and lies nine miles north of the city of Decatur and the Tennessee River, and four miles south of the city of Athens. Coordinates: 34°43′53″N 86°58′14″W

Veto Alabama

Veto was originally known as State Line. The community was then known as Veto, named after a community of the same name located immediately across the state line in Tennessee A post office was established under the name State Line from 1875 to 1877. A post office was then operated under the name Veto from 1882 to 1955. Veto is the northern terminus for the Richard Martin Trail.

Limestone County Alabama Weblinks

Limestone County is included in the Huntsville, AL Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Return to Alabama Counties Index