Chambers County Alabama

Chambers County Alabama Map
Chambers County Alabama Map

Chambers County population is 34,215. Chambers County was established on December 18, 1832. Its county seat is Lafayette. Its name is in honor of Henry H. Chambers, who served as a United States Senator from Alabama.

Prior to contact with people of European descent, what is now Chambers County was inhabited by the Creek Indian Nation.

Pat Garrett, the lawman famed for killing outlaw Billy the Kid, was born near the town of Cusseta in 1850.

Joe Louis “The Brown Bomber”, renowned heavyweight boxing champion, was born near LaFayette, on Buckalew Mountain, May 13, 1914.

Chambers County joined the four mill cities to make The Valley (which is now the largest city). Valley is rapidly increasing in size and located between Montgomery, Alabama and Atlanta, Georgia.

Chambers County Historical Destinations

Iron Bridge


Joe Louis Statue


Chambers County Museum


Chambers County Alabama Cities

Cusseta Alabama

Named for the ancient Creek Indian town of Cusseta. The community was believed to be unincorporated until 2006, when rediscovered documents indicated that Cusseta had been incorporated as a city in 1853. In April, 2007 it was re-instated as a town in 2010.

LaFayette Alabama

LaFayette, the county seat for Chambers County, is located in east-central Alabama on a ridge that divides the Chattahoochee and Tallapoosa river basins. The town was first called Chambersville, but by the time of incorporation on January 7, 1835, the town name had been changed to LaFayette. LaFayette is located near West Point Lake in Georgia, 15 minutes to the east, and Alabama’s Lake Martin, 30 minutes to the west. In addition to these major lakes, LaFayette has fishing opportunities at the 90-acre City Lake and the 183-acre Chambers County Lake. 

Lanett Alabama

Lanett is located on the Alabama-Georgia line in the east-central part of the state. Lanett was originally named Bluffton and was incorporated in 1865 or 1866. The town changed its name to Lanett in February 1895. The site of Fort Tyler, the last Confederate fort to fall during the Civil War, is partially located within the city limits of Lanett.

Valley Alabama

Two large textile mills were built in the 1860s resulting in creation of mill towns of Langdale and Riverview. In the early 1900s two more mills were built, spawning the villages of Shawmut and Fairfax. On April 22, 1980, the four municipalities merged and incorporated as a city.   Because the general area had long been referred to as the The Valley, the city took the name Valley. 

Chambers County Alabama Towns

Waverly Alabama

Waverly is a town in Chambers and Lee counties. It was incorporated in 1910. The town population is 145. Waverly was settled in the 1830s, but saw little growth until the 1870s. The name of Waverly, Alabama first appeared on Alabama maps in 1853. It was given the nickname, Pea Ridge, but this was never its official name. The second Saturday of each October, the Town of Waverly hosts the Annual Waverly BBQ.

Five Points Alabama

In 1885, Five Points was named because of the five roads converging at a single point. Before this, the post office was known as “Lystra”. The town was incorporated in 1915, making it Chambers County’s oldest incorporated town. The Baptist Church was the first to take the name of “Five Points” on its building in 1929.

Five Points holds the distinction of being the first town of its size to receive electricity from Alabama Power in 1925. In order to receive power, citizens were required to erect their own poles from Stroud to White Plains.

Chambers County Alabama Communities

Abanda  Alabama

Abanda is a census-designated place and unincorporated community in Chambers County. Its population was 192 as of the 2010 census. The community got its name from the initials of the Atlanta Birmingham and Atlantic Railroad (ABandA) that was constructed through the area in the early 1900s.

Fredonia  Alabama

Fredonia is an unincorporated community. Its population is 199.Other names for the community have included “Freedona” and “Hursts Store”. It is the location of the New Hope Rosenwald School, which is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

A Brief History of Fredonia

Huguley  Alabama

Huguley is located in southeastern Chambers County at 32°50’16.811″ North, 85°13’59.300″ West (32.838003, -85.233139). It is bordered by the city of Lanett to the east and the city of Valley to the southeast.

Penton  Alabama

Penton is a census-designated place and unincorporated community in Chambers County. Its population was 201 as of the 2010 census.

Standing Rock  Alabama

Oak Bowery,  Alabama

Oak Bowery is an unincorporated community in southern Chambers County. It lies along U.S. Route 431, north of Auburn.

Oakland  Alabama

Oakland is an unincorporated community in Chambers County.

Stroud  Alabama

Stroud is an unincorporated community in Chambers County, located along U.S. Route 431.

White Plains Alabama

White Plains is a census-designated place and unincorporated community in Calhoun County, Alabama, United States. Its population was 811 as of the 2010 census. The community is located in eastern Calhoun County along Alabama Highway 9.

Chambers County Alabama Ghost Towns

Blackman Alabama

N32 52.091′, W85 31.598′

Cedric Alabama

Chambers Alabama

Dates From: 1830

N32 13.7551, W86 11.236′

Danway Alabama

N32 45.514′, W85 22.633′

Denson Alabama

N32 55.956′, W85 18.107′

Doublehead Alabama

Dates From: 1888

N33 05.655′, W85 23.642′

Fordyce Alabama

N32 56.997′, W85 35.126′

Marcoot Alabama

N32 57.481′, W85 29.338′

Moorefield Alabama

N32 49.512′, W85 26.646′

Oakland Alabama

N33 00.822′, W85 14.327′

Standing Rock Alabama

N33 04.791′, W85 15.177′

Chambers County Alabama Weblinks


Map loading, please wait ...
Return to Alabama Counties Index