Print More
Calhoun County Alabama Map

Calhoun County Alabama Map

Calhoun County Alabama

Return to Alabama Maps Index

Return to Alabama County Index

Calhoun County is a county in the east central part of the U.S. state of Alabama. As of the 2010 census, the population was 118,572. Its county seat is Anniston. Calhoun County is home to two major military installations, the now-decommissioned Fort McClellan and Anniston Army Depot.


Calhoun County Alabama History

During the territorial period, the county was home to the Creek and Cherokee Indians. In 1813, the county was the site of one of the first battles of the Creek War of 1813-1814 when Gen. Andrew Jackson ordered Gen. John Coffee to destroy the Creek town of Tallasseehatchee, located in the present-day community of Alexandria.

Calhoun County was created by legislative act on December 18, 1832. The county was initially named Benton County in honor of Missouri senator Thomas Hart Benton, an arch defender of westward expansion and slavery. After Benton declared himself an opponent of slavery in the 1850s, Alabama supporters of slavery voted to change the county’s name to Calhoun in honor of radical secessionist John C. Calhoun.

In 1917, the U.S. War Department established Camp McClellan to train soldiers for World War I. In 1929, the army changed the name to Fort McClellan, and in 1940 the first of approximately 500,000 World War II soldiers arrived for training. In addition to Fort McClellan, the War Department also added the Anniston Army Depot in 1940.

Calhoun County Alabama History

Anniston, Alabama

Anniston, in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains, is the county seat for Calhoun County. Founded in 1872 and incorporated as a city in 1879, Anniston was a company town, built by the Woodstock Iron Company. In fact, the town was not opened for general settlement until 1883. Anniston was the first city in Alabama to be lighted with electricity in 1882.

Glencoe, Alabama

Glencoe is located in southern Etowah and northern Calhoun counties in the northeast section of the state, bordering the city of Gadsden. Glencoe began as a farming community. The community began to grow after a rock quarry located in the area in 1853 and began to build around the Louisville and Nashville Railroad that also had come through the area.

Jacksonville, Alabama

Jacksonville was founded in 1833 on land purchased from Creek Indian Chief “Du-Hoag” Ladiga. First called Drayton, the town was renamed to honor President Andrew Jackson in 1834. There are a couple Civil War monuments in town, including a statue of Major John Pelham in the city cemetery and a statue of a Confederate soldier in the middle of the square. Jacksonville served as the county seat for Calhoun County until the 20th century when it moved to Anniston. Jacksonville State University was founded here in 1883.

Oxford, Alabama

Founded in the early 1850s, Oxford was the first city in Calhoun County to be incorporated, in 1852. The name “Oxford” was due to the presence of a narrow crossing of Chocolocco Creek that allowed farmers to ford cattle from one side of the creek to the other. 

Oxford, Alabama Public Library
Oxford, Alabama Performing Arts Center

Piedmont, Alabama

Piedmont is a city in Calhoun and Cherokee counties in the U.S. state of Alabama. Piedmont is located primarily in Calhoun County, although part of the city also is located in Cherokee County, in the northeast part of the state.  The population was 4,878 at the 2010 census. It is included in the Anniston-Oxford, Alabama Metropolitan Statistical Area. The area now known as Piedmont is a community that began in the early 1840s, located at the crossroads of two early post roads. Major Jacob Forney Dailey of North Carolina came to Alabama in 1848 and bought land in present-day Piedmont. Major Dailey named the area Cross Plains, and an official post office with that name was established on September 22, 1851.

The Chief Ladiga Trail, part of the longest paved bicycle trail in the nation, runs through Piedmont.

Southside, Alabama

Weaver, Alabama

Calhoun County Alabama Towns

Hobson City, Alabama

Ohatchee, Alabama

Calhoun County Alabama Courthouse

The Calhoun County Courthouse is a historic county courthouse in Anniston, Alabama. It was designed by Atlanta architect J. W. Golucke and built in 1900, when the county seat of Calhoun County was moved from Jacksonville. It is one of the earliest Neoclassical courthouses in Alabama. An annex with a jail was added on the north side of the building in 1924. The courthouse was rebuilt after a 1931 fire, albeit with a slightly different clock tower. 

Calhoun County Alabama Jail

Sheriff Matthew Wade

Sheriff Matthew Wade
400 West 8th Street
Anniston, Alabama 36201

Jail Administrator, Eric Starr

Calhoun County Alabama Links

Calhoun County Alabama Map

Comments are closed.