Print More
Digital Alabama Guide to Walker County Alabama

Walker County Alabama

Return to Alabama Maps Index

Return to Alabama County Index


Walker County population is 67,023. Its county seat is Jasper. Its name is in honor of John Williams Walker, a member of the United States Senate.

Walker County Alabama History

Walker County was established by the Alabama legislature on December 26, 1823, from parts of Marion and Tuscaloosa Counties. The final boundaries were established in 1850, when the northern portion of Walker County was used to establish Winston County.

Walker County Alabama Cities:

Carbon Hill, Alabama

Carbon Hill is a city in Walker County, Alabama, United States. It incorporated in February 1891. At the 2010 census the population was 2,021, down from 2,071 in 2000.

Cardova, Alabama

Cordova is a city in Walker County, Alabama, U.S., formerly a textile mill town 35 miles from Birmingham, AL. It was incorporated in 1897. At the 2010 census the population was 2,095, down from 2,423 in 2000.

Dora, Alabama

Dora is a city in Walker County, Alabama, United States founded by Cole Smith. It initially incorporated as the town of Horse Creek on February 18, 1897, but changed its name to Dora in 1906. At the 2010 census the population was 2,025, down from 2,413 in 2000.

Jasper, Alabama

 The City of Jasper was incorporated in 1887 with G. H. “Jake” Guttery serving as its first Mayor. Jasper serves as the county seat of Walker County and is located in the middle of the Warrior Coal Fields, the second largest in the nation. Jasper sits on or near the Bankhead Highway and the new Interstate 22.

The city of Jasper in Walker County was the childhood home of actor George Lindsey, best known for his portrayal of Goober Pyle on The Andy Griffith Show.

Sumiton, Alabama

Walker County Alabama Towns:

Eldridge, Alabama

Kansas, Alabama

Nauvoo, Alabama

Nauvoo is located primarily in northwest Walker County with a small edge of the town in southwest Winston County, in the central part of the state. The town of Nauvoo began as a small agricultural community known as Blackwell’s Crossing.

Oakman, Alabama

Parrish, Alabama

Sipsey, Alabama

Sipsey is a town in Walker County, Alabama, with a population of 437, down from 552. Sipsey was founded in the early 1920s as a company town for the DeBardeleben Coal Company, founded by coal magnates Henry T. DeBardeleben and Nicholas M. Norris. It was incorporated as a town on August 14, 1965. 
Sipsey’s eastern town limit lies on the Sipsey Fork of the Black Warrior River, which offers boating, swimming, and fishing.

Walker County Alabama Communities:

Burnwell, Alabama

Curry, Alabama

Empire, Alabama

Goodsprings, Alabama

Mount Hope, Alabama

Quinton, Alabama

Slicklizzard, Alabama

Spring Hill, Alabama

Townley, Alabama

Union Chapel, Alabama

Union Chapel is an unincorporated community located in Walker County, Alabama.

The Significance of the Union Chapel Mine
The Union Chapel Mine – Alabama Paleontological Society
Find of a Lifetime
87-Year-Old Fossil Mystery Solved
Walker County Alabama History

If you would like to become a sponsor, advertise a related location, service or vacation spot that would add to the usefulness of this site, please email us: staff@digitalalabama.com.


Walker County Alabama Sites of Interest


Walker County Weblinks

Walker County Alabama Sites of Interest

Comments are closed.